The Maternity Leave I Never Really Took

Hello, my Lovlies! I hope that everyone has a Guintastic Easter with all of their loved ones tomorrow and has been enjoying the weekend thus far!

So, in reference to this entry’s title, I have decided that it is in the best interests of myself and my family, that I take a bit of a maternity leave of sorts. While things are going great for the most part, I am beginning to feel that I have, with good intentions, tried a little too hard to do too much, too soon. Basically, I think I bit off a little more than I can properly chew. I can chew it, just not efficiently and me no likey. What I mean to say is that I feel as though I am on the brink of beginning to try and “half-ass” my way through some aspects of my business (the things that I create not included! I will never half-ass my creations) and that is not something that I am comfortable with. It’s not what I’m about, nor want to eventually become. I’m just a little too much of a perfectionist to be able to handle doing only half of what I am capable of for very long and that is something that I am proud (though sometimes my perfectionism really comes round and bites me in the ass ;p). I do honestly feel I am doing a pretty good job, especially lately, but I just have that feeling, ya know? That feeling that a person can get when they are being warned that “burning out” is in their foreseeable future and that is not something that I am willing to risk. I would have once before (because I was stupid like that), but not now. Not that I have my sweet Little Miss to take care of! Who by the way has recently decided to finally let go of Mummy and Daddy’s “security fingers” (for the past couple of months, we would bend down and slack our arms enough that, while walking her around the house, we weren’t actually offering her any support; hence, “security fingers” ;)) and is now toddling about the house! This is beyond fantastically amazing and inexplicably adorable to watch (and a little bizarre – she’s so short! There should be a height requirement for walking, then maybe it wouldn’t blow our minds and catch us off guard as much as it does *laughs* ;)), but this also now means that she is needing about 10 times more attention/supervision! Yeah, this is probably what initially gave the “Psst. Maybe you should slooow dooowwnnn!” noodge and fortunately, for all concerned, I’m going to try and listen ;)

Now having said that, I would like to state that this doesn’t mean that I will just stop making things, studying, or blogging altogether, but I’m really going to try harder to take everything one day at time, and stop pushing so bloody hard to create the illusion that I’ve been doing this for years, instead of only since December 9th, 2011 (that’s when I decided to officially become the owner of an online business, take things more seriously, and begin teaching myself web design, marketing, social media bittles, getting into school, blogging ;), and all the lovely stuff that goes along with starting any business). Essentially, I’m going to be taking the time that I need to do things right!

As my friend, Adam, once said “I am pacing myself for greatness!” ;) And things will be spectacular once I fully return, more educated (I made it through 2 exams in one night without studying, yay!), focused, and ready to rock ;)

Have a beautiful, Guintastic day, my Darlings ;) And don’t forget to keep checking back, as I still will be doing bits from time to time – I actually hope to still keep up my weekly feature “This Week’s Focus”!

Love & Hugs,

~Amanda~

PS ~ Honestly, I think, more than anything, I really just needed to write this all down for me, as I imagine that it will appear that little has changed, as the majority of all my efforts have been going to studying and teaching myself about my business, the online world, the Art of Refinement and how to make all of that work with my newfound family life. You know, all of things that can get overlooked by the passerby ;)

Take care, Lovlies and today, or any day, try and find your own little way to pay it forward!

Leave a Reply

